Nkpor Archdeaconry was inaugurated on Sunday 6th December 2007, by the Rt. Rev. Ken. S. E. Okeke (Rtd). The Archdeaconry Comprised the entire churches in Nkpor Community namely;

  1. St. Matthias Church,
  2. Holy Trinity Church,
  3. St. Peters Church
  4. St. Marks Church
  5. St. Michael and All Angels’ Church
  6. St. Paul’s Church
  7. Church of the Advent  
  8. Christ Anglican Church.

The Ven. Andrew Ibe was instituted and inducted as the Pioneer Archdeacon.

Nkpor Archdeaconry

In the year 2012, the Archdeaconry was split into two namely: Nkpor Archdeaconry and Nkpor new covenant Archdeaconry for closer supervision and administrative purpose, by the Rt. Rev. Dr. Owen Nwokolo (Bishop on the Niger).

The Ven. Sylvester Agha Nwagbo became the Archdeacon for Nkpor Archdeaconry. The present Nkpor Archdeaconry is now comprised of the following churches:

St. Matthias Church Nkpor

Holy Trinity Church Nkpor

Christ Anglican Church Nkpor

Church of the Advent Nkpor

All Souls Church Nkpor

Church of redemption Nkpor

The Present Archdeacon is the Ven. Timothy Ikechukwu Umeh

The Archdeaconry has great potentials for development working towards planting of more Churches in the area.

Schools in the area

There are five (5) Primary Schools in the area, with over 1500 pupils. The Archdeaconry  is planning to established a Secondary School by September this year ie Mission owned Secondary School.


            The Women’s Ministry of the Archdeaconry has a laudable programs touching the lives of people both spiritually and physically. Their prayer and spirituality programs are rejuvenating. They have welfare packages for destitute women and widows. Scholarships for Indigent Children both in Primary and Secondary schools. The youths are equally empowered through skill acquisition programs.


            Churches in Nkpor Archdeaconry are receiving serious attention – New structural innovations at St Mathias Church, Christ Anglican Church, All Saints Church and Church of Advent.


            The Anglican Boys Fellowship (ABF) was inaugurated on Wed. 29th July by the Bishop on the Niger.

Anglican Children Ministry (ACM) was inaugurated in the year 1988 by the Diocesan Chaplain Rev. Canon T. I. Umeh (then).

The Anglican Youth Fellowship (AYF) was inaugurated by the Rev. Nwabufo in the year 1983

The Archdeaconry has some other groups with the churches such as the Men’s Christian Fellowship (MCF) Evangelical Fellowship in the Anglican Communion (EFAC), the Boys and Girls Brigade, the Girls Guild etc.


            The groups are alive to their respective duties both in the church and in the diocese.

The Girls Guild won this year’s Diocesan Football tournament played at All Saints field on Sat 28th July 2015.

Ven. Ikechukwu Christian