To the Glory of God, Alor Archdeaconry was on the 6th December 2014 declared Archdeaconry status by the Bishop on the Niger the Rt Revd Dr Owen Chiedozie Nwokolo with the approval of the Diocesan Board at All Saints’ Cathedral, Onitsha.

            On Sunday 13th April, 2014 witnessed the official Inauguration of Alor Archdeaconry at St. Paul’s Church, Alor the headquarters and the collation, institution and induction of Ven Obediah Onyemelikam and his wife, Mrs Oby A Okonkwo as the pioneer Archdeacon and vice president of women’s ministries. 

            Presently, the Archdeaconry is made up of three communities.  Alor Anglican Community, Uke Anglican Community and Ideani Anglican Community which comprise of five parishes and nine churches namely:

  1. St. Paul’s Parish Alor- St Paul’s and St. Mark’s
  2. St Luke’s Parish Uke- St. Luke’s, St Mary’s and All Saints’
  3. Immanuel Church Parish Ideani- Immanuel Church and St Simon’s
  4. St Andrew’s Church Parish Alor
  5. Immanuel Church Parish Alor

The pioneer Archdeaconry Church workers are as follows:-

            1.  St. Paul’s Church – Ven Obediah & Mrs Oby A Okonkwo Archdeacon/Vicar

2.  St. Luke’s church, Uke- Rev Onyebuch and Mrs Nnenna Eriobuna-Vicar

                        Mr. Chiemezie Ogidi  –   Church Teacher

3.   Immanuel Church, Ideani Rev Chigozie & Mrs ifeoma Ezekwenna Vicar

                        Mr. Chukwunonso & Mrs Onyinye Okafor Church Teacher

  • St. Andrew’s Church, Alor Rev Bertram and Mrs. Ukamaka   – Vicar

Mr. Ifeanyi & Mrs Meg Okeke –  Church Teacher

5.    Immanuel Church, Alor – Rev Innocent & Mrs. Amaka Aninwogbu – Vicar

Mr. Abuchi Nnalue   –  Church Teacher

  •  St. Mark’s Church, Alor – Mr. Lawrence & Ngozi Okonkwo- Church Teacher
  • St. Mary’s Church. Uke – Mr. Emeka & Mrs Divine Ani –Church Teacher
  • All Saint’s Church, Uke – Mr. Peter& Late Mrs Caroline Nnakee   – C/T
  • St.  Simon’s Church, Ideani – Mr. Onyebuchi & Mrs. Ijeoma Anagwu

It is worthwhile to conclude this brief history of Alor Archdeaconry by acknowledging the efforts of our Church workers, the Archdeaconry Board and Finance, the Women’s Ministries, all the organizations and groups especially the inauguration Committee chairman- Dr Sir Carl Nwudo Odenigbo and members towards the success of the Inauguration of the Archdeaconry and the achievements recorded so far.  May God bless you all.

Ven.  Ikechukwu Elobisi