Ascension Archdeaconry was inaugurated on Sunday, 4th march, 2012. The Service which was scheduled for 10am was disrupted by Obosi Youths and the service started by 12:15 pm. The Service was presided over by His Lordship, The Rt. Rev. Dr Owen .C. Nwokolo, The Bishop On The Niger. His wife, Dr. Mrs. Elsie Nonyelum Nwokolo was also in the service. The Retired Bishop On The Niger, Rt. Rev Ken S.E Okeke and his wife, Dr Mrs. Ngozi Okeke (Nneobioma) were also in the service. The Inauguration service was a huge success and the Ven. Ndubuisi Obi was Inducted as the pioneer Archdeacon of Ascension Archdeaconry and the Vicar of The Church of Ascension, Isiafor. Ascension Archdeaconry is made up of these parishes: Church Of Ascension Isiafor, Immanuel Ang. Church, Odume, St. Silas Ang. Church, Enekwesumpu and Amazing Grace Ang. Church, Isiowulu. The only other church that was not a parish but under St. Silas Parish is  Mt.Zion Ang.Church, Enekwasumpu. These churches were part of the new Archdeaconry at inception in 2012.

In 2013, two other churches were started: – Church of Epiphany, Nkputankpu and Christ Church, Odume, while St.Philips’ Odume and Ascension Extension, Limca Road Church were started in 2014. The Archdeaconry is now made up of nine Churches and they are all doing fine. The Clergymen that started the Archdeaconry were:-

Ven Ndubuisi Obi                             Ascension

Rev.Bar.Oscar Akabogu                 Ascension

Rev. Eddison Okoroigwe               Immanuel Church, Odume

Rev. Friday Okoronkwo                 St. Silas Enekwasumpu

Rev. Goddy  Iloka                              Amazing Grace, Isiowulu

Rev. Elochukwu Ojukwu                Mt. Zion Church, Enekwasumpu

The first Elected Treasurer of the Archdeaconry was Sir Simon Omekaodinma. The Council Of Laity Chairman was L/R Raymond Arinze While Engr. Nnaemeka Eziuzor was the first elected Chairman of the Ascension Archdeaconry M.C.F. The Archdeaconry A.Y.F leader was Bro. Ugochukwu Okoye while the first Ascension EFAC sub Zonal leader was Bro Sunday Ndubude. The Pioneer Archdeaconry Account Officer  was Mrs. Ujunwa Ifeacho.

Mrs. Ukamaka Obi, the Archdeacon’s wife ably leads the women Ministry of the Archdeaconry. The first young wives co-ordinator was Mrs. Chinwe Chukwuneke while the pioneer Girls’ Guild Leader was Miss Onyinye Uhiara. The Boys’ Brigade Leader was Ekene Amaechina while the Archdeaconry YAC co-ordinator was Boniface Omenna. The A.C.M Archdeaconry Leader was Anthony Aniugo.

The uniqueness of Ascension Archdeaconry is in the fact that there is a sounding and unity existing in the Archdeaconry. The Laity is ever willing to take responsibilities and they are zealous in the things of God. To God be the glory.

Ven. Angus Umeh


Ascension Archdeaconry.


                SUFFESTED NAMES

               EDUCATION BOARDS

  1. Sir Nnamdi Maduagwu
  2. Mrs. Ifeoma Nwokike
  3. Mr . Frank Ezeoka
  4. Prof. Mrs. Edna Chukwurah


  1. Engr. Charles Agulefo
  2. Mr. Osondu Samuel
  3. Sir Metu C. Okeke
  4. Engr. Fabian Ajuonuma
  5. Mr. Arinze Atuchukwu
  6. Engr. Geoffrey Igwe

                  TASK FORCE

  1. L/R Raymond  Arinze
  2. Mr. Leonard Anyanwu
  3. Mr. Chris Chinwuba
  4. Sir Chuka Nwanna
  5. Mr. Afam Orji

                REVIEW OF VISION 2020

  1. L/R Raymond Arinze
  2. Sir Simon Omekodinma
  3. Azuka Njelita