Awada Archdeaconry

Josiah Ofoegbu" width="100" height="100" />Awada Archdeaconry was created from Onitsha south Archdeaconry on the 16th December, 2009 during the Diocesan Location/Appointment Board, and was inaugurated on Sunday 28th day of March 2010 while Ven. Josiah C. Ofoegbu was instituted and inducted as the pioneer Archdeacon by the then Bishop on the Niger, The Rt. Rev Ken Sandy Edozie Okeke. At inauguration the Archdeaconry was made up of the following Churches:
  1. St James Church, Awada
  2. Our Saviours Church, Awada
  3. Holy Trinity Church, Awada.
  4. Good shepherd church,
  5. Resurrection Anglican church,
  6. Bethel church,
  7. St Timothy Mkputakpu,
  8. Christ church Owelle-aja,
  9. Annunciation Church
  10. Emmanuel church Nwaziki.
The pioneer Archdeacon, Ven Josiah Ofoegbu observed thus: However as a virgin Archdeaconry, immediately after our collation and induction, I saw the pressing need to plant more churches in Awada and its’ environ. As the pioneer Archdeacon, to make sure that the gospel is not limited to the few churches as at the time of inauguration but should be extended to all the nooks and crannies of Awada to complement our vision in this ministry which is to bring Anglican Church to the door post of every inhabitant within the Awada. The aftermath of that vision gave birth to many churches in the Archdeaconry. As at 2016, the following Churches and priests are serving in the Archdeaconry:  
1. St James parish, Awada Ven Josiah ofoegbu – Archdeacon Ven Dr. Linus Akudolu - Principal Patterson Memorial Grammar School Rev Zebulun Ezeobieri Rev Albert Ikokwu – Tutor Lady Hannah Secondary School.
  Church of Resurrection Rev Nnayelugo Enemuo
  Bethel church, Awada C/T
  St Timothy Mkputamkpu C/T
  Christ church owelle-aja C/T
  Immanuel church Nwaziki C/T
  Pentecost church owelle-aja C/T
  St James extension C/T
  Bethel church extension C/T
2. Our Saviour parish, Ugwuagba Rev Elochukwu Ojukwu
  Church of Transfiguration C/T
  Church of Advent Oduke C/T
  Church of Epiphany C/T
  St Nicholas Oduke C/T
3. Holy Trinity parish, Awada Rev Chukwudi Amasiatu
  Church of Annunciation, Awada Rev Ndubuisi Amaechina
  All Soul’s Church, Awada  
4. Church of the Good Shepherd Rev Kingsley Adigwe
  Good Shepherd extension